Hawk of the Day

December 9.

As I’ve said before, bare branches make for fine hawk watching.

From late summer through early fall, I wondered where Riverside Park’s red-tails were hanging out. A Parks employee told me to try the playground near Grant’s Tomb, but I found no raptors other than the bird on top of this little structure near the swings.

Hawk on the roof.

But over the past couple of weeks, to my great delight, I’m averaging a hawk a day.

November 13th.

A hawk a day! I see them circling, swooping and perching. They perch on branches.

November 11.

They perch on buildings.

December 6.

And they perch on water towers.

November 8. The crow over head is part of a gang of crows that harassed the hawk.

Today was a two hawk day. In the morning, I saw a hawk perched on a branch inside the park at 108th Street, and this afternoon, I saw one circling high over Riverside Drive and 114th Street. I can only hope I’ll have another opportunity for a close-up view, like the one I had last January, of a juvenile red-tail dining on squirrel.

Meanwhile, welcome back, hawks.

December 6.

Explore posts in the same categories: 2011, Birds, December, Fall, Hawks, In the City, NYC Parks, Riverside Park, Seasons, Wildlife/Natural History, Winter

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Hawk of the Day”

  1. Molly Dean z Says:

    As a result, the wings have a rather “squarish” look, somewhat reminiscent of a Red shouldered or Red tailed Hawk.


  2. I agree. That’s the best part about having the leaves fall off the trees in autumn — you can spot the hawks!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,226 other followers

