A Dog in New York

My house is a very very very fine house.

My house is a very very very fine house.

Lately I’ve been feeling grateful to my walking companion.

Just over five years ago, my family and I left the horizontal landscape of Dallas, Texas for the vertical world of Manhattan. Since then, like old-fashioned postal workers, the dog and I can fairly say that “neither rain nor snow nor heat nor gloom of night” has stayed us from our daily exploration of our neighborhood’s streets and parks.  Walking with Esau has led me to discover things about my city and its inhabitants – human, domesticated and wild – that I might never have known if the dog didn’t need to go out, and then go out again.

So today I just want to take a minute to admire the dog who gets me up and out, who poses patiently whenever asked, and who valiantly represses his predatory instincts long enough to allow me to watch the hawks, raccoons, squirrels, egrets, sparrows, peacocks, woodpeckers, ducks, and other creatures that share the streets and parks with us.

(If you hover over the photos, arrows will appear so that you can click through the slide show)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you, Esau dear. You can take five now.

IMG_6486

Explore posts in the same categories: 2013, Central Park, dogs, Domestic animals, Fall, In the City, Morningside Park, NYC Parks, Riverside Park, Seasons, Spring, Summer, Winter

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “A Dog in New York”

  1. Mr. Mantooth Says:

    Oh Lordy, what a masterpiece Esau is.
    He needs rock star security from now on.
    Drop-dead gorgeous.
    And keep those paparazzi at bay!

  2. mthew Says:

    Let’s go for a walk with alias Esau!

  3. p hoey Says:

    O Esau, doggiest of dogs, a dog of all seasons, long may you wag!
    (great pictures, Esau companion…)

  4. Sally Says:

    Awwww! :-)

  5. Barbara Says:

    LOVE that dog! He’s such a cutie – and isn’t it true that dogs help to make our lives more interesting – just by ensuring we get out and about…? My two humungous labs Bliss and Spirit are ready at 6, or when it’s first light which ever comes first. Now tha we’re in a new home we have a new routine which does NOT include the three walks a day they used to get, But that will change as soon as I get past the moving blahs…and we will start exploring our new neighbourhood and surrounds…I’m taking a page from your blog and going to take more interesting photos with the dogs in them for a change.

    Your photos of Esau are always brilliant and I love looking at his happy shaggy face! Thanks Melissa.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,226 other followers

